Rave: Guilt Free Key Lime Pie

 

Dscn1376

Here is a case of “Gee, why didn’t I think of this sooner?” moments.  I am not a big yogurt fan…never have been but  MAY actually be one now!  While at the grocery store purchasing yogurt for my yogurt addicted family, I came across Oikos Key Lime greek yogurt (which can be found @Wegmans for about $1).  I have read all about the wonderful benefits of Greek yogurt: more protein, fewer carbs, half the sodium but never really thought much about it.

I guess this one particular day I was a bit hungry, because it seemed to call to me.  I gave in to it’s cries and bought it. 

Oddly enough a week or so later, I had to undergo an oral procedure which left me unable to eat solid food.  I found the lonely Oikos Key Lime yogurt buried in the back of my fridge and thought I’d give it a go.  I am a texture girl and on those rare occasions that I would actually eat yogurt, I always added some granola for crunch.  Well, obviously that was out of the question so I looked to my pantry to see if there was an alternative.  Boy, was there!!  Graham Cracker Crumbs!!  Oh, yeah!

Greek yogurt is much creamier and thicker than regular yogurt and by adding the graham cracker crumbs, it was like indulging in a virtually guilt free pleasure.  A tart yet sweet, creamy version of key lime pie with bits of “crust” in every bite. Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

